Great Texas Lakes for Boaters

Great Texas Lakes for Boaters

There’s a popular saying that everything is bigger in Texas. That’s true for a lot of things: steaks, hats, land, and even the Lone Star State’s vibrant boating scene. Thanks to 170 beautiful lakes, Texas is a paradise for boaters who enjoy watersports, fishing and just hanging out with friends on the water. Here are a few of Texas’ best lakes for boaters.

  • Lake Granbury [lake-granbury.com/] – This scenic 33.5-mile long recreational area is a favorite among those who love the outdoors. The lake has five public boat ramps, four wonderful camping areas, an exciting bass fishing scene, and more than 1,000 boat docks and piers. When visiting the Granbury area, stop by Carey and Sons (www.careyandsonsmarine.com), one of the top boat dealerships in North Texas.
  • Highland Lakes [highlandlakes.com] – Located in Central Texas, the Highland Lakes consist of six lakes: Lake Austin, Lake Travis, Lake Marble Falls, Lake LBJ, Inks Lake and Lake Buchanan. Boating, fishing, picnicking and watersports are popular on all the lakes. Lake Travis is the longest of the Highland Lakes and is a favorite among boaters for its stunning natural scenery, luxurious resorts, tons of family activities and world-class marine facilities. When traveling to Lake Travis, boaters should visit Austin Boats and Motors (www.austinboats.com) in Austin. They’ve been a Crownline dealer for more than two decades and are a wealth of information for visiting boaters.
  • Lake Lewisville [lake-lewisville.org/] – One of the largest lakes in North Texas, Lake Lewisville features 233 miles of shoreline. It offers great fishing, watersports opportunities and the chance to enjoy gorgeous scenery. But what makes Lake Lewisville really popular is Party Cove, where boaters flock to tie up with other boats, listen to music and basically party on the water.
  • Lake Amistad [nps.gov/amis/index.htm] – Part of the Amistad National Recreation Area, this massive lake has 70,000 surface acres shared between the United States and Mexico. It is managed by the National Park Service and visiting boaters can enjoy everything from open water to narrow, steep canyons. The lake offers amazing camping opportunities and exceptional fishing.
  • Canyon Lake [canyon-lake.net] – Watersports are exceptionally popular on this scenic lake, located between San Antonio and Austin. One of the deepest lakes in Texas, Canyon Lake also offers anglers great bass fishing. Several waterfront restaurants can be found along the lake, and nearby is a gorge where visitors can view fossils and dinosaur footprints.
  • Lake Conroe [lake-conroe.net] – This 21-mile-long lake near Houston is one of the most popular boating lakes in the state. It has an exciting watersports scene, excellent bass fishing, and it has several lakeside restaurants.
2017-07-06T12:44:29+00:00

About the Author: